

Professional Appraisers Association of SD

Friday, January 21, 2022 PAASD Annual Membership Meeting Chamberlain, SD – Arrowwood Resort at Cedar Shore

The meeting was called to order by President Sandra Gresh at 11:40am, CT.

Guests were welcomed and dual members of the SD Chapter of ASFMRA were given recognition.

Guests Cathy Papke from Dacotah Bank (major sponsor for the Annual Meeting Event) and Barry Wilfahrt, lobbyist for PAASD and the SD Chapter of ASFMRA, each left prior to lunch due to pending weather.

Motion: (Amy Frink) To approve the minutes of the past meeting as written. Seconded by Billy Bear.

Motion passed.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance Committee

Craig Steinley gave the Treasurer's report. The 2021 Financial Reports and the 2022 approved budget were presented to the membership.

Motion: (Crystal Freund) To acknowledge receipt of the 2021 Financial Reports and the 2022 approved budget. Seconded by Nick Rhoads. Motion passed.

Membership Committee

Bill Bear gave the Membership Committee update. The number of members for 2021 was 133. Bill acknowledged Charlotte Deaver for creating the PAASD membership brochure.

Education Update

In 2021 PAASD offered:

- 2021 ANNUAL MEETING-Virtual Presentation January 22nd <u>UPDATE ON</u> <u>SOUTH DAKOTA APPRAISAL REPORTS: AVOID THE COMMON ERRORS AND</u> <u>OMISSIONS</u>: A 7-Hour virtual seminar with 56 registrations
- 2021 ANNUAL MEETING-Virtual Presentation <u>THE VALUE OF POT: REAL</u> <u>ESTATE IMPACTS OF LEGALIZED MARIJUANA</u>. A 4-hour virtual seminar with 71 registrations
- May 19, 2021, <u>Residential Appraisal Reports How Do You Write/Read/Use</u> <u>Them?</u> A 4-hour virtual class presented by Susanne Barkalow with 35 in attendance.
- May 26, 2021, <u>Appraisal Practices Board Advisory #8: Collection and</u> <u>Verification of Residential Data in the Sales comparison Approach</u>, a 4-hour virtual class presented by Susanne Barkalow with 26 in attendance.

- 2021 FALL CONFERENCE <u>Rapid Response: Market Analysis in Volatile</u> <u>Markets</u>, a 7-hour in-person Appraisal Institute seminar with 41 registrations.
- 6. Future Conferences
 - a. 2022 Fall Conference Meeting: Deadwood, SD (date and class TBD)
 - b. 2023 Annual Meeting: TBD

And, finally, <u>The Training Course For Supervisory Appraisers and State-Registered</u> <u>Appraisers</u> was offered two times in 2021 with a total of 32 attendees.

The 2022 Fall Conference will be held in October in Deadwood, SD. The offering has not yet been determined.

The 2023 Annual Meeting - dates and location to be determined.

Public Relations Committee

The 2022 Fundraising and Social Event was a success for both organizations.

SPECIAL COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Government Affairs Committee

Craig Steinley introduced Randy Vance as one of PAASD's lobbyists who represents PAASD when testimony is required during a legislative session.

The Advisory Council was optional during 2021... meetings were not held or not held in a productive manner. The Advisory Council is not mandated in statute. HB1061 would mandate it in law. Many spoke up about working with our legislators to ask them to approve HB1061.

It was noted that if one cannot travel to Pierre on Monday, January 24, 2022, the session will be available virtually.

<u>Website</u>

Upgrades to the website are ongoing. We are hoping to find a way to track member payments and post on their profile. Creating a member account is also being considered.

Scholarship

Sandra Gresh gave an update on the Scholarship Fund.

Dawn Rasmussen submitted an application for the 2022 Professional Development Scholarship and will be awarded the scholarship at this meeting.

The Denny Wagner Memorial CE Scholarships will be drawn after the today's Membership Meeting. The Board is also discussing possible scholarships for the ETP (Experience Training Program) to be awarded to help with tuition.

NEW BUSINESS:

No new business

OLD BUSINESS:

PAASD's strategic plan is still being refined. A meeting is scheduled for June 2022.

Page 3 PAASD Annual Meeting Friday, January 21, 2022

ELECTION OF PRESIDENT AND VICE PRESIDENT

At the September 30, 2021, PAASD Board of Directors meeting, Sandra Gresh and Amy Frink were elected as President and Vice-President, respectively, for the 2022-2023 year. The Immediate Past President is Mary Houk.

ELECTION OF DIRECTORS

Five nominations for three 3-year Director positions were received: 54% of PAASD members voted by Election Runner. The results are:

The 3-year Positions expiring in 2025 will be filled by: Charlotte Deaver, Winner, SD

David Lawrence, Sioux Falls, SD

Scott Kopplin, Spearfish, SD

One nomination for the Secretary/Treasurer position was received: The 3-year Position will be filled by: Craig Steinley, Rapid City, SD

The other Directors on the Board are:

Brooke Newstrom, Rapid City, SD, will be on the Board until 2023. Bill Bear, Rapid City, SD, will be on the Board until 2023. Marshall Miller, Sioux Falls, SD, will be on the Board until 2024. Marv Siebrecht, Aberdeen, SD, will be on the Board until 2024.

The officers for 2022-2023 are:

Sandra Gresh, President, will be on the Board until 2023. Amy Frink, Vice President, will be on the Board until 2023. Mary Houk, Past President, will be on the Board until 2023. Craig Steinley, Secretary/Treasurer, will be on the Board until 2025.

The election was held via electronic software called Election Runner.

President Sandy thanked Peggy Kalt for her service on the PAASD Board under the old governance and for completing her 3-year term as a Director under the new governance. She then welcomed David Lawrence to the 2022 Board and welcomed back Scott Kopplin and Charlotte Deaver to the 2022 Board. Each of the new directors will serve until 2025.

President Sandra Gresh gave a brief overview of AARO conference attended in October 2021 and thanked PAASD for the opportunity to attend and learn from the experience which she felt very worthwhile.

There being no further business, President Sandra Gresh called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: (Al Hall) To adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Bill Bear. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 12:13pm Central Time.

Respectfully submitted,

Bev Luke PAASD Executive Secretary

DENNY WAGNER 2022 CE SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS

Michael Craven Steve Kubik Jess Powell Elizabeth Neuharth